Uppsala University

Welcome to the 5th International conference on hard X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy
Uppsala, Sweden, June 17-20, 2013

Photo: Martin Ceije, Uppsala University

Hard X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy - HAXPES - is a growing technique to study bulk electron structure of materials. Using X-rays from 2 keV - 15 keV it is possible to obtain a probing depth of 10nm -30 nm. For soft and porous materials even larger depths are possible to reach. The electron structure from the bulk of the materials gives a key to other materials properties and it is possible to understand e.g. complex materials, buried nano-structures and multi-layered structures relevant for device applications.

HAXPES 2013 is the fifth conference in a series of workshops that have grown rapidly with the years and at the last meeting in Hamburg (HAXPES 2011) it was decided to convert the workshops to a regular International Conference on HAXPES. This series of conferences will bring together experts in the field, present an overview of recent activities and achievements and provide a platform for the discussion of emerging new applications and future trends.

Welcome to Uppsala in June!

May 27, 2013: Detailed programme updated on the Programme page
May 15, 2013: Detailed programme posted on the Programme page
March 20, 2013: Abstract submission deadline extended to March 27 (23.59 local Swedish time)
January 15, 2013: Registration open
January 15, 2013: Abstract submission open

Confirmed speakers

Ashish Chainani RIKEN Japan/India
Claudia Felser MPG Dresden Germany
Alex Gray SLAC USA
Olof Karis Uppsala University Sweden
Tien-Lin Lee Diamond England
Klaus Lips HZB Germany
Patrick Lysaght SEMATECH Albany             New York USA
Jan Minar University of Munich Germany
Seiichi Miyazaki  Nagoya University   Japan
Martina Müller Jülich  Germany
Francesco Offi Univ. Rome III Italy
Naoki Ohashi NIMS Namiki, Tsukuba, Ibaraki Japan
David Payne Imperial College England
John Rehr University of Seattle, Dept ofPOhysics USA
Sudipta Roy Barman UGC-DAE Consortium for Scientific Research, Indore India
D.D, Sarma Solid State and Structural Chemistry Unit Indian Institute of Science Bangalore India
Marc Simon Université Pierre et Marie Curie Paris France
Shigemasa Suga Osaka Japan
Elin Söndergaard St Gobain Paris France
Wolfgang Werner TU Vienna Austria
Carsten Wiemann Forschungszentrum Julich Germany
Jorg Zegenhagen ESRF Germany
Andrei Zenkevich NRC Kurchatov Institute Russia